Mawlana Hazar Imam to Deliver Virtual Address During Historic Ceremony at Aga Khan University in Kenya | The Ismaili Canada
Main image
Main image

Mawlana Hazar Imam to Deliver Virtual Address During Historic Ceremony at Aga Khan University in Kenya

June
11
4am PT | 7am ET
Live Stream
Open to Multi-faith
family members

Mawlana Hazar Imam to Deliver Virtual Address During Historic Ceremony at Aga Khan University in Kenya

Description

In a momentous occasion, the Aga Khan University will receive its Charter from Kenyan President Uhuru Kenyatta and will inaugurate a new state-of-the-art University Centre in the heart of Nairobi. The event will air live on The Ismaili TV tomorrow, Friday, 11 June, and will feature an address by Mawlana Hazar Imam.

Friday 11 June will be remembered as a significant day in the history of AKU, as the University will be granted an official Charter in Kenya, laying out the institution’s functions, powers, obligations, and governance. 

On the same day, AKU will also celebrate the official opening of the University Centre — its new main campus in Kenya, located across the street from the AKU Hospital and Darkhana Jamatkhana in Parklands, Nairobi. The building will be home to AKU’s Graduate School of Media and Communications, Medical College, School of Nursing and Midwifery, Institute for Human Development, and Brain and Mind Institute. 

The new Centre features 23 floors above and below ground, and was designed by the internationally renowned architecture firm Payette, which has also designed university buildings for Harvard, MIT, Princeton, and Columbia. It has been constructed to feature a variety of spaces to enhance the working and learning experience for faculty, staff, and students.

As an agency of the Aga Khan Development Network, AKU’s mission is to improve quality of life — through world-class teaching, research and health-care delivery, and by educating students for local and global leadership. It aims to generate new knowledge to solve problems that affect millions of people, especially the most vulnerable.

In the coming years, the new Charter and University Centre will make a valuable contribution towards achieving this mission.

Watch the ceremony at the.ismaili/tv on Friday, 11 June. Live coverage begins at 4am PT │ 5am MT │ 7am ET.

Visit the Ismaili TV for a detailed schedule

 

Share with friends
The Ismaili

Contact Us

His Highness Prince Aga Khan Shia Imami Ismaili Council for Canada

49 Wynford Drive Toronto, Ontario M3C 1K1 CANADA

Tel: +1-416-646-6965

Stay Connected

Subscribe to the Al-Akhbar newsletter today. Join over 40,000 people who receive weekly local, national and international news.

Sign-Up

Download the iiCanada App

Download on the App Store Download on the Google Play