The Ismaili eChess Cup | The Ismaili Canada
Main image

The Ismaili eChess Cup

The Ismaili eSports & Fitness Initiative, which is a Global Encounters program, and under the umbrella of the Jubilee Games, will comprise of a multitude of activities that build on each other and culminate in a competitive tournament.

 

The Ismaili eChess Cup will continue the vision of eSports to sustain a culture of athletic excellence and physical and mental wellbeing within the Global Jamat, strengthen community identity and engagement, and enhance awareness and appreciation for Imamat initiatives.

Our Objectives

Talent: To attract and identify world class / elite e-athletes, stimulate their participation in eSports competition and create a mechanism to promote excellence within our talent pool through specialized training and harnessing existing talent.

  • Create a master directory of different levels of proficiency within the Jamat

  • Redeploy experts and coaches to support the development of althletes
  • Identify the number of first time eSports participants

 

Unite: To unite participants virtually to build relationships and create a network across e-athletes.

  • Athlete engagement: Friendly matches, coaching, tournaments and other activities
  • Volunteer engagement
  • Engagement via opening and closing ceremonies
  • Awareness through engagement programming on Ismaili.org and Ismaili TV

 

Identity: To bring together a large number of Ismailis who represent the Jamat's social, economic, cultural and geographic diversity, to celebrate our diversity and shared identity

  • Create a forum to share cultural experiences amongst athletes
  • Connect coaches and participants across geographies to cross-collaborate
#MakeYourMove
Tournament Schedule

To all spectators, the Jamat and well wishers:

Watch the tournament here starting 9am PT | 10am MT | 12pm ET
 
  • Menu options are available on the left of the screen:
  • Standings: Includes participant standings
  • Rounds: There will be up to 7 rounds. By clicking on a round you can view a live match or analyze already played matches
 
Don't forget to check out our live commentating of the finals. Join us here at 11am PT | 12pm MT | 2pm ET

Code of Conduct & Guidelines

Participants and spectators are expected to abide by the AKYSB Code of Conduct throughout the entirety of the weekend, as was agreed to when registering for eChess Cup. Failure of participants and spectators to maintain good conduct and sportsmanship in accordance with these requirements may result in suspension and/or disqualification from the competition entirely.

 

All Provincial and Federal guidelines from Public Health officials and ministries must be followed and respected at all times during the preparation and duration of this tournament. Any individual that does not abide by these rules and regulations may be disqualified.

Contact Us

To contact us or connect, follow us on Facebook & Instagram.

The Ismaili

Contact Us

His Highness Prince Aga Khan Shia Imami Ismaili Council for Canada

49 Wynford Drive Toronto, Ontario M3C 1K1 CANADA

Tel: +1-416-646-6965

Stay Connected

Subscribe to the Al-Akhbar newsletter today. Join over 40,000 people who receive weekly local, national and international news.

Sign-Up

Download the iiCanada App

Download on the App Store Download on the Google Play